SNAILS_credit_Mark Sewell.JPG

Snails are a 5-piece experimental pop band from Bristol, stealing gleefully from mavericks such as the Kinks, Lou Reed and Syd Barrett while combining it with a deft lyricism and craftsmanship all their own.

Songwriter Dan Weltman studied film music composition at Bristol University, and draws on folk, classical and pop influences in his writing. He is joined by Anna Kissell (vocals), Holly McIntosh (bass, vocals) Steve Dixon (drums) and Matthew Chaney (keys).

A debut LP ‘Safe in Silence’ was released in early 2017, followed by the ‘Starting with Mine’ EP in summer, both issued on the Feral Child label. The band’s releases have received airplay on several BBC 6 Music shows and favourable press coverage.

EP - Starting with Mine

"Simply the most effortlessly charming set of songs I've heard in a long time."

Pete Paphides

Recorded live to tape by Benjamin Whitehouse at Cellar Tapes, Bristol. Released as ltd 7" on Undergrowth Records.


Released April 24, 2017

Anna Kissell: Vocals (lead on A1) 
Dan Weltman: Vocals and guitars
Holly McIntosh: Bass and vocals
Steve Dixon: Drums
Ana Gómez: Piano Matthew Cheney: Keys

Mastering by Donal Whelan at Hafod Mastering

Artwork by Caio Wheelhouse

All songs © Dan Weltman 2017


© all rights reserved